Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / search

Matt Kenseth Voted First Quarter Driver of the Year

NASCAR’s Matt Kenseth crushed the opposition to win the first quarter DRIVER OF THE YEAR AWARD 2013.

The 2003 Sprint Cup Champion scored twice the points of his nearest rivals in a vote by an elite panel of American broadcasters and journalists

In racing terms Kenseth rolled off the hauler quickly in his first season with Joe Gibbs Racing. In the first quarter ending May 12th he scored three wins (Las Vegas, Kansas and Darlington), two poles and led 781 laps.

The usually droll Wisconsin native was moved and a little surprised when he heard the news. “It’s always an honor whenever you’re selected for any kind of award from the media or the fans,” Kenseth said. “I never even thought of receiving this award, so it’s pretty cool to have been selected for this.

There’s really not a lot that I can take credit for though because it’s truly a testament to everyone at Joe Gibbs Racing and how fast the cars are that they’ve given us to start the season off with. I feel like all three of our JGR teams have been fast and competitive at every track this year and capable of winning each week. We have a really great group and I think that we learn a lot and work together in order to be successful,” he added.

Barry Schmoyer, President of the DRIVER OF THE YEAR Foundation, noted “usually it takes a little while for a team to jell, but, Kenseth and the entire JGR team behind him have hit the ground running – running for another Sprint Cup Championship.”

In the voting Kenseth, who drives the No. 20 Dollar General/Home Depot Husky Toyota Camry, had ten first-place ballots and totaled 110 points according to the DRIVER OF THE YEAR points system. Canada’s James Hinchcliffe, who drives the Go Daddy Dallara-Chevrolet for Andretti Autosport in the IndyCar series, had one first-place vote and tallied 55 points.

Kyle Busch, one of Kenseth’s teammates, a threat to win on any NASCAR track finished third with two first-place votes and 50 points. Takuma Sato, the first Japanese driver to win an IndyCar race, also had one first-place vote.

A total of 15 drivers scored points in the first quarter voting.

In its’ 47th year, the DRIVER OF THE YEAR title is unique. The panel of 18 leading journalists and broadcasters from across the U.S. determines the winner. Four panelists did not vote this time. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis. Kenseth will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a race weekend at to be determined.

President of the DRIVER OF THE YEAR Foundation is Barry Schmoyer, businessman and sportsman of Sarasota, Florida.

Further information on the award may be obtained from DRIVER OF THE YEAR Foundation, PO Box 49827, Sarasota, Florida 34230 or from (941) 379-2318 or email:


Marsha Smith

Always the best, win or lose.

kim smith

nice job keep it up